減廢及回收教育工作

過去30年間,香港的廢物量不斷增長,堆填區每日接收大量廢物,壓力日增。減少廢物實在迫在眉睫。環保促進會於社區進行各類環保宣傳及教育活動,包括:

 

介紹都市固體廢物收費

都市固體廢物收費按「污染者自付」原則,改變大家以為丟棄垃圾不用成本的觀念,從而減少垃圾棄置,增加回收意欲。我們已於商業大廈、商場、住宅、公共屋邨、大學、街市、中小學、廟宇、殯儀館等舉辦了多個都市固體廢物收費試點項目。

 

推動減少及回收廚餘

廚餘被棄置於堆填區,既佔用了寶貴的堆填空間,亦浪費了其中有用的有機物質。我們舉辦講座、展覽和廚餘處理設施參觀以提高市民對香港廚餘問題的認識。我們還為工商業界廚產生者提供培訓、實地考察和諮詢服務,收集經已源頭分類好的廚餘到廚餘處理設施。

 

協助社區活動源頭減廢

各項社區活動無可避免地產生許多廢物,我們致力指導活動策劃和運營者以更環保的方式組織活動,包括減少使用一次性用品和指導正確的回收做法。

 

推動乾淨回收

乾淨回收不僅可以降低可回收物的處理成本和流程,而且可提高其質量、數量和價值。我們舉辦了各種宣傳活動,以鼓勵居民正確的回收習慣。此外,我們還為物業管理人員提供培訓,以協助屋苑全面推動乾淨回收。

 

籌辦海岸清潔活動

我們定期舉辦海岸清潔活動,藉以加深公眾對海上垃圾問題的認識,鼓勵他們改變日常習慣,從源頭減少製造廢物,和避免垃圾落入海中。

Waste Reduction & Recycling

In the past 30 years, the amount of waste in Hong Kong has been increasing, and the landfills receive a large quantity of waste every day and are under increasing pressure. Waste reduction has become ever more imminent and acute. The Green Council conducts various environmental publicity and education activities in the community from time to time, including:

 

Introduce municipal solid waste charging (MSW) scheme

MSW charging is in line with the “polluter-pays” principle, so that people become more aware that waste disposal comes with a cost. This helps to reduce waste disposal and encourage recycling. We have coordinated a number of MSW charging pilot projects in commercial buildings, shopping malls, residential buildings, public housing estates, university, public market, primary and secondary schools, temples, funeral parlour, etc.

 

Promote food waste reduction at source and recycling

The current practice of disposing of food waste in landfills is not a sustainable solution as it consumes valuable landfill capacity and wasting useful organic resources. We organised seminars, exhibitions, visits to food waste management facilities to make the public better aware of food waste issues in Hong Kong. We also provide training, site visits and enquiry helpdesk services to commercial and industrial food waste generators to collect and deliver source-separated food waste to food waste management facilities.

 

Assist community events in reducing waste at source

Numerous events are being organised that unfortunately generate a lot of avoidable waste. We are committed to guiding event planners and operators to organise their events in greener ways by reducing the use of one-off disposables and advising best practices of recycling.

 

Promote clean recycling

Clean recycling can not only reduce the cost and handling process of recyclables, but also enhance their quality, quantity and value. We organised various promotional activities to encourage proper recycling habits among residents. Training sessions was provided for property managers as well to assist estates to promote clean recycling comprehensively.

 

Organise shorelines cleanup activities

We organised shorelines cleanup activities to help the public better understand the marine refuse problem, thereby encouraging them to change their habits to reduce waste at source and prevent refuse from entering the sea.